Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Giving time from my heart

on October 10, 2014

Yesterday I mentioned Random Acts of Kindness. Over the next few days I’m focusing on another inspiration for listening to my heart beat – The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.

The world is full of hurting people whose hearts are broken, bleeding, wounded and hard.

By nature I am a problem solver. I want to ‘fix’ everything.

The reality is some things can’t be ‘fixed’, but sometimes the wounds can be cleaned and bandaged.

My friend’s heart is bleeding and broken right now. Raising her children as a single mum, working full-time and trying to protect her heart as she goes through divorce proceedings. Life is hard and her heart needs care.

We had the family over for tea. It was a simple BBQ, the children (hers and mine) ran crazily around the backyard and she and I talked and laughed.

Good company, good food, good conversation. A good time (according to the children, it was the best night EVA!)

As I hugged her goodbye I said “I chose not to ask questions or talk about what you are going through. I want you to know I am here for you in those times as well but I hope tonight was a break for you and that you found some rest.” Our hearts met as she expressed that the evening was a welcome respite and she did feel better.

There is little I can do to ease the burden but what I can do, from my heart, I will do.

I will give from my heart.

Leave a Reply

