Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Giving words from my heart

on October 13, 2014

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.”

We chanted this in the playground, walking arm in arm, in a military march style but it wasn’t until I was an adult I acknowledged the impact words had on me.

Words hurt, words wound, words break hearts, words destroy relationships.

My heart has been hurt with words more than any sticks and stones that have broken my bones. Words have hurt you too, I know.

James 3:10 (NIV) says “Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.”

We speak without thinking, we think without speaking – words hurt.

BUT …..

Words can heal, words can soothe, words can calm, words can mend relationships.

Ephesians 4:29 (MSG) says “Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift.”

These are the words my heart longs to hear, I chose to speak them from my heart to others who need to hear them too.

I will give with my heart.

Leave a Reply

