Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Opening my wallet with my heart

on October 15, 2014

I dream of winning the Lotto. Unfortunately, I don’t buy tickets so my chances are very slim.

I dream about what I would do with the money – how I would spend it, what I would spend it on, who I could help out.

What would you do? Think about it, listen to your heart. How much of it would you REALLY give away?

When I am down to the last $2-00 in my wallet before pay day, I can thrown it in a hat for a busker without thinking twice. After all, it’s only $2, right?

BUT …

Would I give him a $200 tip if I’d just won $2 million? Why would I hesitate? What would make me give money away without thinking about it?

A random act of kindness I read about was taping dollar bills on vending machines, phone boxes or even leaving them on the shelves in supermarkets for others to find. That actually sounds like it would be fun and is something my children and I would enjoy. I could do it with $20 but would I do it with $2000?

Why is it harder to give money away when you have more than you need but those who can afford little are willing to give from their heart?

Where do you sit / stand with giving away money? Do you have your own personal set of guidelines of who you’ll give to and why you give?

2 Corinthians 9 v 7 (NIV) says “Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”

I will give with my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

