Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

A wounded heart

on October 17, 2014

“The heart is the only broken instrument that still works”.

I don’t know where I first read that quote but I memorised it. It was a salve when my heart was broken and brought a hope that I would recover from the pain.

I did recover and went on to love again even though my heart bears the scars.

Medical miracles can stop a heart beat or relax a body to stop it from feeling pain but what can we do when our hearts feel beyond repair? Hearts can be broken or wounded by thoughtless words, misunderstood expressions, silence. Few hearts remain unscathed.

You can see their hearts, the pain, the grief, the hurt, the rejection. It all hurts. When you hear of a heart that bleeds, you don’t always see it happening with your eyes but you can see it with your own heart.

These wounds can take a long time to heal but we keep on loving others while we wait. That’s just the way it goes.

Is there anything that can be done to mend a wounded heart?  There is no special cream or even a band-aid you can use on a broken heart.

Again, a quote I memorised “Time heals all wounds” is probably the truth of the situation but what I can do, I will do. There are so many people needing a gentle word, a smile, a friendly ear to listen or a heart to feel what they are feeling.

I will see with my heart.

Leave a Reply

