Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

God will give you the desires of your heart …

on October 25, 2014

Psalm 37:4 New International Version (NIV)

4 Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

I used to take this verse to mean that God would give me what I wished for. Very simple, very straight forward, very selfish. I shouldn’t have been surprised that it didn’t come true.

My selfish heart has done a re-think recently and I realised it’s a verse about God and not about ‘me’,

GOD will GIVE me the DESIRES of my heart.

God doesn’t give me what I WANT – He gives me the DESIRE in the first place.

A desire to serve others, a desire to serve Him, a desire to see justice upheld, a desire to cook, a desire to write, a desire to teach, (you get the idea …)

We each have a purpose and a plan for our lives but it may take us a lifetime to discover where that desire (or passion) lies.

Don’t wait that long …..

He will give you the desires of your heart, if you are looking for a plan and a purpose for your life. He’s not in the business of ‘granting wishes’ but of seeing us live a full life with hope, peace, joy and love. We each have a purpose and a plan for our lives but it may take us a lifetime to discover where that desire (or passion) lies.

I will see with my heart – will you join me?

 

Leave a Reply

