Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Take heart for I have overcome the world …

on October 26, 2014

John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (NIV)

Do any of us ever really go looking for trouble?

My 12 year old son would roll his eyes at me for that statement …”Oh.mum! I wasn’t looking for trouble, it just sort of followed me home …”

Financial troubles, relationship troubles, parenting troubles, work troubles – trouble seems to find me when I’m not looking for it. And I feel my heart tighten, crushed, overwhelmed. I wonder if I will ever see light at the end of the tunnel, an end to this trouble I find myself in.

It’s His peace that I need to find a place for in my heart – the calm in the storm, the green pasture, the cool water to rest beside.

He’s given me fair warning that life was going to be like this, there will be times of trouble (please, let them be short times and not weeks or months …) but there is a sense of relief some days when I realise I don’t have to do it on my own, all alone, by myself.

I can take my heart to Him, take my trouble to Him and have peace. I don’t need to go searching for His peace, I can just have it. It’s there waiting for me already. I just need to take my heart to that place where He has overcome the world and there is His peace.

I will have peace in my heart.

 

 

Leave a Reply

