Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Writing on my heart … in pencil

on October 27, 2014

Psalm 40:8 “I take joy in doing your will, my God, for your instructions are written on my heart.”

I love doing puzzles like cryptic crosswords, regular crosswords, word searches and Sudoku.

My 12-year-old son asked to do some of my Sudoku puzzles the other day but decided he needed to complete them in pencil in case he made a mistake.

This may not come as a revelation to many people but he surprised me with his logic. Up until that point I have always done my puzzles with a pen. I hadn’t given any thought to what I would do if I’d made a mistake.

When you write in pencil it is easy to rub it out, erase the mistake.

Have you ever made a mistake you wish you could erase?

Of course not! I’m the only one who would ever want to do that …lol!

What is written on your heart that you wish you could erase?

Harsh words, lies, bitterness – you can erase these.

Forgive the one who wrote on your heart with that hurtful pencil.

Clean the slate.

Erase those words from your heart.

Make room for new words to be written there – words of joy, peace, contentment.

Allow God to write on your heart.

 

Leave a Reply

