Thoughts from Thursday's Child

Thursday's Child has far to go

Writing on my heart … in pen

on October 28, 2014

Psalm 40:8 “I take joy in doing your will, my God, for your instructions are written on my heart.”

I love writing with pen and paper. Something about letting thoughts flow onto a page rather than a computer screen makes me feel connected to the words.

And birthday cards – few people post cards these days because you can send an all singing, all dancing, lights flashing card in an email.

Post-it notes have a special place in our family. I leave messages on the bathroom mirror, in lunch boxes and on the fridge, flourishing my black pen with flair and style.

At least, I did until the children commented that they couldn’t read my writing! Cursive is no longer a style of writing they are taught in school…huh???

With the speed and immediacy of social media and text messages, are we missing out on the intimacy of a handwritten note? And where does that leave my black pen?

Love letters, birthday greetings, my diary, advice to my child, encouragement for a friend, shopping and to-do lists – these flow from my pen onto greeting cards, notepaper, blue lined journals, the back of envelopes.

The permanency of words written with a pen on paper speak to my heart, my mind and my spirit, helping me recall special memories of loved ones, shared celebrations, memorable family gatherings. They don’t fade with time, I can re-read them often and share them with others.

I have kept countless cards and letters sent to me from grandparents, parents and friends over the years as a record of their writing, personal messages that touch my heart and bring me joy.

What joy has been written on your heart in pen? Are you sharing special moments and memories with others that leave an imprint on their hearts?

Allow God to write His instructions on your heart.

Leave a Reply

